Formula E: DS Penske driver Jean-Eric Vergne wins first Hyderabad e-Prix

DS Penske driver Jean-Eric scored an impressive win amid plenty of action and drama throughout the race at the inaugural Hyderabad Formula e-Prix. In the fourth round of Formula E’s season 9, the drivers battled it out on a new circuit added to the schedule this year, but Vergne beat Envision Racing’s Nick Cassidy in the closing stages to secure a Retained the top spot.

go through:
Sameer Fayaz Contractor

Updated on:
February 11, 2023 at 17:19 pm

Jean-Eric Vergne takes his first win for DS Penske in the 2023 Formula E Hyderabad e-Prix

At the start of the race, Jaguar TCS Racing’s Mitch Evans started from pole, followed by Vergne, while Envision Racing’s Sebastian Sebastian Buemi was next in third. Evans took the lead early in the race, but an untimely aggressive pattern on lap seven saw the driver drop to third, behind Wergne and Buemi.

Also read: Formula E Hyderabad e-Prix: Everything you need to know about the 3rd generation electric race car

Just when Evans appeared to be recovering, the driver took a major blow and a few laps later teammate Sam Bird crashed into the driver. It marked the end of Jaguar TCS Racing, the home race for the team owned by Indian conglomerate Tata Group. The crash also stopped Nissan’s Sacha Fenestraz and Maserati’s Maximilian Gunther, although the drivers continued on without injury.

However, the incident helped Nick Cassidy back into the top three at the time behind Buemi and Vergne. Vergne was now battling Buemi for the lead and found the perfect line to pass him a few laps later. Buemi tried to use his aggressive pattern on the same lap, which gave Cassidy second and set the sequence for the rest of the race.

In fourth was championship leader Pascal Wehrlein of Porsche, who extended his lead in the drivers’ championship. The driver trailed teammate Felix da Costa, who moved up to third after Buemi was penalized 17 seconds for a speeding violation, which dropped him to 15th.

In fifth is NIO 333 Racing’s Sergio Sette Camara, followed by Mahindra Racing’s Oliver Rowland, who could score a key sixth for the team. Nissan’s Norman Nato finished seventh ahead of Stoffel Vandoorne in the second DS Penske car. Ninth and tenth places were occupied by Avalanche Andretti’s Andre Lotterer and Maserati’s Edoardo Mortara respectively.

Finishing out of the points was Cupra Formula E’s Nico Muller, followed by Fenestraz and Gunther. Mahindra’s Lucas di Grassi disappointed and finished 14th, ahead of Buemi.

First published date: Feb 11, 2023 at 17:19 PM CST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *